An internet 'Dear Diary' of anorexia

The Epiphany

I never normally watch TV, I’m more of a book person but at breakfast I was watching the music channels and got bored so I switched to Gok Wan’s How To Look Good Naked. There was a mum who found it hard to get undressed in front of her partner and was convinced her bum was big, by the end of it she was walking down a catwalk in a huge mall in front of hundreds of strangers in a bikini. I find it hard to even look at myself in one. I found it sad how she hated her body when there was nothing wrong with it, but I realized how I don’t really have anything to hide but can’t face the world seeing me.

Then that ended and Supersize vs Superskinny came on. I was fine watching it till there were seven anorexic’s who the program had been following who had been trying to get better. They all said how they wanted to be the happy bubbly people they were before anorexia hit, I’ve been anorexic for most of my life and I realized I had no idea who I could be without it, they all said how much more fun they were without it, I’ve never known what that is like. They showed the anorexic’s all eating these really tasty looking meals and it struck me that if one was put in front of me, I wouldn’t finish because unknown to me, I’ve been going backwards. The anorexic’s were commenting on how it tasted, how they could taste the cinnamon, or how the taste was delicate and how much they were enjoying it, I’d love to enjoy food but I wolf it down as fast as possible to get eating over and done with as fast as possible. I got quite emotional seeing them because I realized what I’ve never had and all the while my partners words were echoing in my head: “anorexic’s think they’re in control, but they’re really not”, which is completely true.

So I made a new vow to beat this, I can’t sit around waiting to get to the top of the list to see a psychiatrist, because by then I’ll be too far gone. I decided to try again and if I can’t do it for me, then I will do it for my partner.

C

Comments on: "The Epiphany" (15)

  1. Remarkable content out there. I for no reason permit a day of the week close withouth acquiring up-to-date important information from this web page.

  2. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours lately, yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the internet will likely be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  3. What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you’re no longer really a lot more smartly-preferred than you might be now. You are so intelligent. You already know therefore significantly in the case of this subject, made me individually consider it from a lot of numerous angles. Its like men and women aren’t interested except it is one thing to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs outstanding. At all times take care of it up!

  4. Hello there, simply become aware of your weblog via Google, and found that it is truly informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful should you continue this in future. Many folks will likely be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  5. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with helpful information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our whole group can be grateful to you.

  6. Pulitzer prize material here.

  7. I cherished as much as you will receive performed proper here. The cartoon is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. however, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be turning in the following. unwell indubitably come more beforehand again since precisely the same just about a lot ceaselessly within case you protect this hike.

  8. I don’t even know the way I stopped up here, however I believed this publish was once good. I don’t understand who you’re however certainly you are going to a famous blogger when you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  9. Can you type long blog posts on the PS3 web browser?

  10. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i got here to “return the choose”.I am attempting to to find things to improve my site!I guess its good enough to use some of your ideas!!

  11. Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity for your submit is simply excellent and that i could suppose you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to snatch your feed to stay updated with approaching post. Thanks one million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  12. Its such as you read my thoughts! You appear to grasp a lot about this, like you wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you just could do with some percent to power the message home a bit, however other than that, this is excellent blog. A great read. I will definitely be back.

  13. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & aid other customers like its aided me. Good job.

  14. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & help other users like its helped me. Great job.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

